Rants/Reviews

Are You Having a Bad Day, or Are You Making it a Bad Day?

Today I started reading the so-controversial book “The Secret”, which is basically about the ‘law of attraction’, and not attraction as in to people, but attraction as in you can get everything you set your mind to. Being curious as I am, I researched a little about the book and I found out it has been criticized by almost everyone, when really, if you think about it, what it says is true.
k

The book states that a person’s thoughts actually radiate some kind of signal that attracts similar thoughts (and actual stuff) in the same ‘frequency’, putting the example that when someone is sad, they usually start thinking about other sad events of their life, making themselves feel worse, which is a real example. That might be a little exaggerated and scientifically false, but the real part is when they say positive thoughts attract positive things in your life. When I got the hang of what the book was going to be about, it instantly reminded of the most powerful quote I’ve ever read:

Life is 10% what happens to you, and 90% how you react to it.

AND THAT’S IT! It cannot be any truer than that! Life explained in a single sentence! We have all the power to control how we visualize ourselves in the future, and all the potential to make it happen. If you woke up on the wrong side of the bed today, YOU have the power to switch that mood up and be happy after breakfast! If you really think you can’t, then it means you have no control over your thoughts, and you really need some meditation classes or something to gain some authority over that little dependent consciousness.

In The Secret, they don’t mean that by thinking about a million dollars 24/7, they will magically materialize in front of you one day, but that by thinking about those million dollars on your hands every day, that’s what you’ll work for nonstop, and eventually, you WILL get them. They also say that the most successful people of the world have used The Secret conscious or unconsciously which is why they are where they are today, but if you stop being stubborn and you generalize that information, you can not tell me that those men and women became successful while they sat at home complaining about whatever. They worked for it incessantly. The thought of being on the top NEVER left their minds, and when you see it, that’s exactly what The Secret is about.

So hopefully you get the idea and don’t take things so literally. Go give that poor book a read. If I change my mind when I finish it, I’ll let you know it’s not worth it, which I doubt because I just say we have to interpret the information we receive and adapt it to ourselves. Be smart, and thanks for reading my midnight rant.

“I attract to my life whatever I give my attention, energy and focus to, whether positive or negative.” Michael Losier

Leave a Reply

