Personal

HO HO HO, Merry Christmas!

This year, my Christmas morning was -if not boring- just as eventless as every past year since I stopped believing in Santa (of course, I slept in until lunchtime, no point in waking up early anymore). Does this mean I stopped liking the holiday? Hell no, I love Christmas. And I’m really not being sarcastic this time. It only reminds me of one thing one of my friends said last week: “Have you noticed that during Christmas most people forget about all their problems and just focus on having a good time with their family and friends?” Have YOU? Or you’re one of those peeps that don’t make the effort? Well for me, this has to be my favorite thing about Christmas, right below the twinkling lights decorations (they soften me up inside every time like a melting ice cream).

What is it about Christmas that suddenly makes everyone drive like monkeys, think they can become bakers/cookers overnight, but most importantly, worry about each other so much? If this wasn’t a tradition, would people really make the effort to reunite their families every year? Besides, you know, the desire to overdose on a little too much alcohol festive cheer.

Christmas is supposed to be a holiday of love, but some people really get lost in the process. Worrying in between the holiday pounds and last minute gift shopping, we try to please everyone forgetting about the most important person in our lives: ourselves. For real, don’t be afraid to enjoy the holiday in a way that is good for you, that’s what this holiday is all about! Even if that means spending it kissing your dogs…

Old Christmas picture (hence the black hair), with my #1 lover.

Old Christmas picture (hence the black hair), with my #1 lover.

Matching dresses with my bitch!

Matching dresses with my bitch!

So, I really hope you all got the gifts you asked for and above all, that you know how blessed you are for having the opportunity to spend Christmas with your lovely family under a roof, next to a table full of Christmas dinner leftovers. Learn to be thankful every single day.

“A lovely thing about Christmas is that it’s compulsory, like a thunderstorm, and we all go through it together.” – G. Keillor
“Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice.” – Dave Barry

Have a holly jolly Christmas!

**

One thought on “HO HO HO, Merry Christmas!

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Christmas Specials | The Little Engine that Couldn't

Leave a Reply

