Art / Personal

Santa’s Gift

Waking up to the sound of my alarm, I notice it’s somewhere around 8 AM and it’s time to post my already-written Christmas post. I do as planned, and thinking it’s too early, I pass back out.

..It’s around 12 PM and my mom has walked inside my room, nudging my arm and telling me “Wake up. Santa left you something on the tree” which makes my eyes open like a shutter in a few seconds. “What?” I whisper to myself while I untangle the sheet off of my legs. “Really?”, and before I knew it, I was standing in my legs and running to the tree in less than two minutes. The doubt of the origin of whatever would be under that Christmas tree, made those few seconds so magical and vacillating, that I felt 6 years old again.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

To my own surprise, I actually got something for Christmas (and surprised not because I didn’t want to, but because I didn’t ask for anything). My oldest brother had the delicacy to buy a little gift for everyone in my family, stealing the Santa role for the year. What did I get for Christmas this year?

image

So, as you can clearly read in the picture, I got an Intuos Creative Pen & Touch Tablet with which, basically, I can draw into, and everything I do will appear in my software of choice, which in this case I’m using Photoshop CS6. This has totally been sparking up my creative feels ever since. I’ve been trying to learn how to master it completely so I can be able to do digital art too, but the hardest part is learning how to use Photoshop. Lame, I know. These are the only tryouts I’ve done so far:

The first one was just a quick design I drawed, to which I applied a filter punching around the program, which makes the middle look awesome and 3d. The middle one is the result of also clicking around randomly, and making a psychodelic background with a good quote on top, written in my ugly handwritting. The ugly highlight lines of the third drawing are because I copied the head of my ballerina painting (facing down) and they’re supposed to resemble hair (in your imagination, of course). And the color swatches around it are the results of me trying to learn how to blend colors… BARE WITH ME, I’M LEARNING!

So basically before doing any piece, I have to learn all the useful Photoshop shortcuts in order to do something friendly to the eye (aka not ugly), and those who know how to use Photoshop or that have tried to learn how to use it, know how much of a hassle I’m going through. BUT I LOVE IT!

Be really patient if you plan on expecting something worth complimenting from me in this aspect…

Oh and btw, tomorrow’s the last day of the year! THANKS GOD.

temp

 

2 thoughts on “Santa’s Gift

Leave a Reply

